Board Members

Our Profile – Executive Committee

(1) The Executive Committee shall consist of the President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and a number of Directors at Large in accordance with paragraph 9(5) and as determined at an Annual General Meeting.

(2) Members of the Executive Committee shall be elected by nomination and vote at the Annual General Meeting of the SVA.

(3) Members of the Executive Committee shall serve two-year terms. The President, the Treasurer and half of the Directors at Large shall be elected in alternate years to the Vice President, the Secretary and the remaining Directors at Large. In the event of a resignation, the replacement shall serve out the existing term.

Responsibilities of the Executive Committee

(1) The Executive Committee is responsible for setting policies and guidelines for the management of the SVA, including conditions of membership.

(2) The Executive Committee may, as it sees fit, establish any manner of sub-committee. Those sub-committees could deal with such issues as the environment, land and property development, transportation, submissions to the City of Ottawa, etc.

(3) The Officers may, where circumstances do not permit consideration by the Executive Committee, establish special purpose sub-committees to address specific, immediate, and urgent issues. Such sub-committees shall, in accordance with paragraph 9(6), report decisions made and actions taken to the next meeting of the Executive Committee.

Executive Committee


Tanya Hein

Tanya Hein


I moved to the western edge of Stittsville in December 2005, and immediately felt at home. Like many ‘new’ residents, I was charmed by Stittsville’s village character — the unique main street corridor, the heritage features and rich history, the parks, forests, and trails, and the neighbours and business operators who quickly became friends. 

My husband and I are proud to be raising our four sons in Stittsville. Volunteerism abounds here, and we benefit from engaged citizens who value Stittsville’s character and and the sense of connection residents seem to have to each other and to the community. I joined the SVA in 2009 to contribute more to the effort to preserve the village elements I love about Stittsville, even as we face intense, and often rapid, growth.

In addition to monitoring planning and development applications for the SVA in Ward 6, I am team lead for both Canada Day festivities and the Parade of Lights; volunteer as a director on the board of Ottawa Neighbourhood Watch; am past chair and current parent representative on my children’s school council; serve as ‘Business Development Elf ‘ for the Stocking Project; and teach sewing in my spare time.


Phil Sweetnam

Past President / Director

Nancy Therrien

Vice President

Doug Sutherland


David Fairbrother




David Fairbrother


Marion Gullock


Trevor Eggleton


Danya Hammond


Jeff Gallant


Barry Gray